Guided Shore Dives

Sydney - Manly Shore Dives

Dive Sites

Dive Rating Key
Green: Ideal for beginner divers and is a easy dive.
Blue: For the more experienced diver with a greater level of skill in the water.
Black: Experienced divers only. Black dive sites may experience challenging conditions such as currents and deep.
Day Date am/pm  Dive Site Rating Depth Action
Mon 23-Oct-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 28-Oct-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 29-Oct-2017  am Freshwater* 
Blue
12m Book Now
Mon 30-Oct-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 04-Nov-2017  am Freshwater* 
Blue
12m Book Now
Sun 05-Nov-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 06-Nov-2017  am Fairy Bower* 
Green
10m Book Now
Sat 11-Nov-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 12-Nov-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 13-Nov-2017  am Freshwater* 
Blue
12m Book Now
Sat 18-Nov-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 19-Nov-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 20-Nov-2017  am Fairy Bower* 
Green
10m Book Now
Sat 25-Nov-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 26-Nov-2017  am Freshwater* 
Blue
12m Book Now
Mon 27-Nov-2017  am Royal Shepherd* 
Blue
28m Book Now
Sat 02-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 03-Dec-2017  am Freshwater* 
Blue
12m Book Now
Mon 04-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 09-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 10-Dec-2017  am Freshwater* 
Blue
12m Book Now
Mon 11-Dec-2017  am Fairy Bower* 
Green
10m Book Now
Sat 16-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 17-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 18-Dec-2017  am Fairy Bower* 
Green
10m Book Now
Sat 23-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 24-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 30-Dec-2017  am Fairy Bower* 
Green
10m Book Now
Sun 31-Dec-2017  am Shelly Beach* 
Green
14m Book Now



*The Dive Sites schedule are a guide of where we are planning to go and are in no way guaranteed. If we can't go to the divesite due conditions, then the cruise director will nominate the next best suitable spot. There is no refund if we do not make it to the planned dive sites.

Fairy Bower

Depth:10m Rating:Green

Fairy Bower gets its name from the miniature fairy penguins that can be found here. This shore dive lies just off of the ocean-side pathway running between Manly Beach and Shelley Beach. It is located about halfway between the two and swimmers and divers can get down to the water via a metal staircase. This is a great site for night dives when there is not much traffic on the pathway.

When you get into the water swim north away from the beach. There are some large rocks that you can swim between and there is also a swim-through, though you may need a guide to find it. As you swim north you will get down to approximately 8 metres of water maximum. There is a prominent reef that you can follow that extends out fairly far. In the western side of a reef is a large section of a storm pipe which baby wobbegongs and other fish like to hide in. There is also a gully between the rocks to the west that divers can swim through.

This is a good dive for seeing sharks. In March the dusky whaler sharks flock to this location. Some of PRO DIVE's guides have reported seeing almost twenty at a single time. Port Jacksons also can be found here in the winter. Aside from the sharks there are also blue gropers, schools of surgeonfish, yellowtail, leatherjackets, seapike, fiddler rays, sting and numb rays, and giant cuttlefish.

>

Freshwater

Depth:12m Rating:Blue

Freshwater Sydney - Description comming soon

>

Royal Shepherd

Depth:28m Rating:Blue

Located off South Head it is a relative easy site to access. The Shepherd can be found at a depth of 27M, so you are required to be an Advanced Open Water Certified diver to visit this site. The site consists of parts of the  Royal Shepherd, rather than the entire ship itself.  All that remain are the engine block, driveshaft, prop and boiler. There is sporadic fish life around the wreck and it is home to some Moray eels.

 

 

>

Shelly Beach

Depth:14m Rating:Green

Enter from the shore along the right hand side of the beach (facing the sea). Keep the rock wall on your right as you head out and on your left as you head back - an easy dive site to navigate. As with any site, Shelley Beach is weather dependant - generally protected during easterly winds, which makes it diveable when a lot of other sites in the area are blown out. Viz can vary from 3 to 15M but is usually clearer during the winter months. On a good day, this is a spectacular site!

The best of the site is further out than most people get to and you do need reasonable air consumption to reach it. Swim out following the rock wall to your right, until it turns northwards and starts to peter out. Take a heading and keep going following the remnants of the rock wall on the sea floor and you should come to a kelp bed. Weedy seadragons are frequently found here and the depth should not exceed 12m.

Along the wall and amongst the big boulders, other marine life seen regularly is the divine eastern blue gropers (wrasse), schools of yellowtail and big eyes, mados and often pike. Red Morwongs, goatfish in the sandy area, flatheads and often ludericks and old wives. Under ledges shrimps galore and often juvenile lionfish. Port Jackson sharks and giant cuttlefish are common in season and wobbegongs sleep in crevices and under the big boulders.

>
*All Prices are Per Person and Prices may vary depending on Start Dates.

More Information

Testimonials Meeting Points Price Dive Sites Terms and Conditions Dates & Availability

Page Generated 3104ms