Shore Dives

Dive Sites

Dive Rating Key
Green: Ideal for beginner divers and is a easy dive.
Blue: For the more experienced diver with a greater level of skill in the water.
Black: Experienced divers only. Black dive sites may experience challenging conditions such as currents and deep.
Day Date am/pm  Dive Site Rating Depth Action
Fri 22-Jun-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 23-Jun-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 24-Jun-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 25-Jun-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 29-Jun-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 30-Jun-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Sun 01-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 02-Jul-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 06-Jul-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 07-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 08-Jul-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Mon 09-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 13-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 14-Jul-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 15-Jul-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 16-Jul-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 20-Jul-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 21-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 22-Jul-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Mon 23-Jul-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 27-Jul-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 28-Jul-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 29-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 30-Jul-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 03-Aug-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 04-Aug-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 05-Aug-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Mon 06-Aug-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 10-Aug-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 11-Aug-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 12-Aug-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 13-Aug-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 17-Aug-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 18-Aug-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 19-Aug-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 20-Aug-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 24-Aug-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 25-Aug-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 26-Aug-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Mon 27-Aug-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 31-Aug-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 01-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 02-Sep-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 03-Sep-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 07-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 08-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 09-Sep-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 10-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 14-Sep-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 15-Sep-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 16-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Mon 17-Sep-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 21-Sep-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 22-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 23-Sep-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Mon 24-Sep-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 28-Sep-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 29-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 30-Sep-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Mon 01-Oct-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 05-Oct-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 06-Oct-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 07-Oct-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 08-Oct-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 12-Oct-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 13-Oct-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 14-Oct-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 15-Oct-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 19-Oct-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 20-Oct-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 21-Oct-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Mon 22-Oct-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 26-Oct-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 27-Oct-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 28-Oct-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Mon 29-Oct-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 02-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 03-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 04-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Mon 05-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 09-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 10-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 11-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 12-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 16-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 17-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 18-Nov-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Mon 19-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Fri 23-Nov-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 24-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 25-Nov-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 26-Nov-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 30-Nov-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 01-Dec-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 02-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 03-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 07-Dec-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 08-Dec-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sun 09-Dec-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now
Mon 10-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 14-Dec-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Sat 15-Dec-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 16-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Mon 17-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Fri 21-Dec-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sat 22-Dec-2018  am Gordons Bay* 
Green
14m Book Now
Sun 23-Dec-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Mon 24-Dec-2018  am Bare Island* 
Green
20m Book Now
Fri 28-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sat 29-Dec-2018  am Shark point* 
Black
25m Book Now
Sun 30-Dec-2018  am South Maroubra* 
Blue
18m Book Now



*The Dive Sites schedule are a guide of where we are planning to go and are in no way guaranteed. If we can't go to the divesite due conditions, then the cruise director will nominate the next best suitable spot. There is no refund if we do not make it to the planned dive sites.

Bare Island

Depth:20m Rating:Green

Bare Island jutts out dramatically from the mainland and is accessible on foot from a long wooden walkway. The right side of the island is protected and good for diving even when the sea is rough. Multiple dive sites exist around the island making it a place that you can keep coming back to.

If you dive the right side you will initially drop down to about 15 metres and cross over a small reef. If you turn left and head southwest you will cross a sandy bottom and wind up at the main reef. Flatheads, numbrays, rays and flounder can be seen half buried in the sand so be careful if you touch the bottom.  There is a gutter that you can swim through between rocks and kelp near the reef.

The marine life on the reef can be very plentiful. Noteworthy are the pygmy seahorses and weedy sea dragons one can see here. There are also several kinds of sharks that can be seen here, namely grey nurse sharks, port jackson and the occasional dusky whaler. At about 20 metres is a low overhang around which a lot of sea life exists. There are catfish, Sydney cardinalfish, yellow-banded sea perch, and half-banded perch. On your way to this cave are colorful sponges, giant ascidians, lace coral, Bairds solitary coral, and sea tulips.

If you dive down on the left side you will land on a sandy bottom at about 6 metres. The bottom slowly slopes down as you proceed southeast. There are overhangs and caves as you swim along and you may be able to see wobbegongs, port jacksons and pineapplefish among other things. Sponges and nudibranchs can also be seen on the rocks here and sea dragons are around
 

>

Gordons Bay

Depth:14m Rating:Green

Gordons Bay is located North of Coogee and offers easy diving in calm conditions, with a maximum depth of 14 meters. This site is especially suitable for novice divers and night Dives. Entry into the dive is directly from the carpark, just follow the path down into the water. One of the unique features is the nature trail, defined by a chain which you can follow around the site (note the chain can disappear under the sand at some points) . The trail is approximately 600ms and the dive itself will take on average 30-40 minutes. Features include a small wall imaginatively named "The Wall" and is considered the most interesting part of the dive. Gordons Bay is protected by a reef called the 'Bommie". You will find Sydney's usual suspects on this dive, Blue Groper, Sting Rays, Wrasse , Nudibranchs ,Goat Fish and Port Jackson in winter.

>

Shark point

Depth:25m Rating:Black

Located on the North side of Clovelly Bay is shark point, one of the best Shore Dive Sites in Sydney.  We rate this site as Black, due to the tricky entrance and exit points divers must cope with off of the rocks. When you go, be sure to go with another diver or guide who has been there before and knows what they are doing.

Enter the water from the point and then drop underneath the waves until you reach a depth of approximately 8 metres. The ocean floor drops-off to 13 metres after a brief swim and it is covered in huge boulders where many fish are hiding in nooks and crannies. As you continue south-east you will reach the rock-sand line at around 25 metres. Here there are rocks with lots of sponges and ascidians flourishing on them. In this area you can also expect to see wobbegongs, cuttlefish, bulleyes, roughies, and even blue devilfish. If you go a bit deeper you may encounter pygmy pipehorses but you will need a sharp eye to spot them.

This is a dynamic and exciting shore dive, that will merit many visits if you wish to see all it has to offer. Definitely worth a visit!
 

>

South Maroubra

Depth:18m Rating:Blue

We rate this dive for the tricky entry point and long walk to the site. You will need to be fit to participate in this dive and it is best to go with a guide. It is well worth the effort, one of the most pristine dives in Sydney. Along the sandline you will see lots of boulders, kelp and overhangs that are full of fish life.

>
*All Prices are Per Person and Prices may vary depending on Start Dates.

More Information

Reviews Meeting Points Price Dive Sites Terms and Conditions Dates & Availability

Page Generated 3977ms